What are the four legal institutions in Zambia?

The legal sector in Zambia comprises the following key institutions: The Judiciary, the Directorate of Public Prosecution (DPP), Zambia Police Service including the Victims Support Unit (VSU), the Legal Aid Board and Zambia Prison Service.

One can classify the large number of legal institutions along different dimensions. Specifically, one can distinguish between (i) organic and designed institutions, (ii) information-based and enforcement-based institutions, and (iii) private and public institutions.

What are the four categories of law in Zambia?

The following are sources of law in Zambia:

  • Constitution.
  • Legislation.
  • Common Law.
  • Judicial precedent.
  • Customary Law.
  • Authoritative texts.


As a result of the colonial legacy, Zambia has a dual legal system made up of general law (the Constitution, statutes, case precedents, subsidiary legislation and English common law, principles of equity and selected statutes) and customary law.

How many types of courts are there in Zambia?

The Zambian judicial system comprises approximately 460 courts, arrayed, basically, in a hierarchy with four primary levels.

IMPORTANT:  How many universities are in Ghana?

What is an example of an institution?

Examples of institutions include: Family: The family is the center of the child’s life. The family teaches children cultural values and attitudes about themselves and others – see sociology of the family. Children learn continuously from their environment.

What is the law of institution?

INSTITUTION, political law. … That which has been established and settled by law for the public good; as, the American institutions guaranty to the citizens all privileges and immunities essential to freedom. INSTITUTION, practice.

What are the two types of laws in Zambia?

Zambia has a plural legal system consisting of general law based on English law, customary law, and a variety of bodies of rules and practices generated by semi-autonomous social groups like the church. Customary law consists of the customary laws of each of Zambia’s 73 ethnic groups.

Is there need to use English law in Zambia?

​(ii) Any other written law in Zambia. Thus, the Constitution of Zambia and any other written law would have to be deficient or not comprehensive on a subject for English Law to apply in Zambia. … Hence, common law, doctrines of equity and English statutes passed before 17th August 1911 are applicable in Zambia.

What is the supreme law of the land in Zambia?

(1) Zambia is a unitary, indivisible, multi-party and democratic sovereign State. … (3) This Constitution is the supreme law of Zambia and if any other law is inconsistent with this constitution that other law shall, to the extent of the inconsistency, be void.

IMPORTANT:  Which university offers public health in Nigeria?

What are the three classifications of law in Zambia?

Public law deals with the state and includes such branches as criminal law, constitutional law, and administrative law; whereas private law includes contracts, torts, property law, and family law. Finally, the law may be classified into criminal and civil.

What is English law in Zambia?

Zambia’s judicial system is based on English common law and customary law. … Local courts mainly administer customary law, especially cases relating to marriage, property, and inheritance. Under the constitution of 1997, the Supreme Court is the highest court in Zambia and serves as the final court of appeal.

African stories