What are the notifiable diseases in Zambia?

Within the HMIS, there are indicators for 11 priority notifiable infectious diseases which are reported to the next level in the reporting chain immediately they are detected/suspected and/or confirmed and these include: Acute Flaccid Paralysis (AFP); Measles; Neonatal Tetanus; Dysentery; Cholera; Plague; Rabies; …

What are the 11 notifiable diseases?

​Schools and child care centres

  • Diphtheria.
  • Mumps.
  • Poliomyelitis.
  • Haemophilus influenzae Type b (Hib)
  • Meningococcal disease.
  • Rubella (“German measles”)
  • Measles.
  • Pertussis (“whooping cough”)

What are reportable or notifiable diseases?

Reportable diseases are mandatorily reported to jurisdictions by individuals in the health care community, including providers, facilities and laboratories. The list of reportable conditions is maintained and disseminated at the state level and may vary among states/territories.

What are examples of notifiable diseases?

Nationally Notifiable Diseases

  • Cholera.
  • Cryptosporidiosis.
  • Cyclosporiasis.
  • Giardiasis.
  • Hepatitis A.
  • Legionellosis.
  • Malaria*
  • Salmonellosis.

What are notifiable animal diseases?

Notifiable diseases are animal diseases that when suspected by owners, vets or laboratories must be reported within a defined time frame. The listed diseases are broken up into: exotic diseases of mammals, birds and fish. diseases of mammals and birds.

What is the most transmissible disease?

Perhaps the most notorious of all infectious diseases, the bubonic and pneumonic plagues are believed to be the cause of the Black Death that rampaged through Asia, Europe and Africa in the 14th century killing an estimated 50 million people.

IMPORTANT:  How much is S5 price in Nigeria?

What is notifiable disease?

[ nō′tə-fī′ə-bəl ] n. A disease that must be reported to public health authorities at the time it is diagnosed because it is potentially dangerous to human or animal health. reportable disease.

What is notifiable disease surveillance?

The National Notifiable Disease Surveillance System (NNDSS) is a nationwide collaboration that enables all levels of public health (local, state, territorial, federal, and international) to share health information to monitor, control, and prevent the occurrence and spread of state-reportable and nationally notifiable

How can you prevent notifiable diseases?

You can help prevent notifiable diseases by following:

  1. strict biosecurity practices.
  2. the rules on imports and exports.
  3. the rules on feeding to farmed livestock.

Who list of notifiable diseases?

List of Notifiable diseases in India

  • AIDS.
  • Dengue fever.
  • Hepatitis B.
  • Malaria.
  • Whooping cough (Pertussis)
  • Rabies.
  • Tetanus.
  • Viral encephalitis.

What are notifiable noninfectious diseases?

— Lead, elevated blood levels, children. Foodborne disease outbreaks. Waterborne disease outbreaks. Pesticide-related illness and injury, acute (nonoccupational and occupational) Silicosis.

What is the purpose of notifiable diseases?

If you have a notifiable disease, all your information is confidential and is seen only by authorised health staff. It is used for planning purposes and for research. You might be able to restrict access of medical practitioners to certain sensitive information, such as sexual health records.

African stories