What does O level mean in Kenya?

Some private schools, however, offer a system of education similar to the British system of education with ordinary level exams, “O-levels”, taken at the end of four years of secondary school and advanced levels, “A-levels”, taken after two years of high school.

What is O level in Kenya?

Certificate Courses

KCSE mean grade of C- or equivalent. An O’ level mean grade of Division III or equivalent. An A’ Level qualification with a minimum of two subsidiary passes or equivalent.

Is Kcse O level or a level?

At the end of the fourth year, from October to November students sit for the Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education (KCSE) examination. This is similar to ‘A’ levels in the UK. These are two- or three-year post secondary school institutions also termed colleges.

What is an O level equivalent to?

The O-Level and CSE were replaced in the United Kingdom in 1988 by the GCSE and later complementary IGCSE exams. The Scottish equivalent was the O-grade (replaced, following a separate process, by the Standard Grade).

What is O level and A level?

O Levels is a secondary school degree offered by the University of Cambridge and is equivalent to Matriculation offered in Pakistan. Consequently, A-Levels is a higher secondary school degree equal to the intermediate offered here, in Pakistan.

IMPORTANT:  Best answer: What can I study in Morocco?

Are schools free in Kenya?

Education of Kenya. The national educational system consists of three levels: eight years of compulsory primary education (beginning at age six), four years at the secondary level, and four years of higher education. The government provides free primary and secondary education.

Is Waec O level?

O’level is also talking about SSCE which may include WAEC, NECO, GCE, and NABTEB.

Which is better matric or O levels?

The grading system of O levels is much simpler than matriculation as it is according to the international grading system. … O level learning is considered to be much superior due to its international standards. Matric learning framework, is designed by the local Board in Pakistan.

What can I do with O level certificate?

With an O levels cert you can be a CSO (customer service officer), receptionist, security guards, ad

  • Customer service executive.
  • Admin officer.
  • Operations officer.
  • Retail sales associate.
  • Preschool teacher.
  • Accounts assistant.
  • HR administrative assistant.
  • Sports assistant at country club.

What year did O levels stop?

The General Certificate of Education Ordinary Level (O level) was a qualification offered from 1951 until the introduction of the General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE) in 1986. You can find out more information about O levels below.

What is the difference between N level and O level?

Secondary students can move between streams based on their academic performance. The Express stream is a four-year course leading to the Singapore-Cambridge GCE Ordinary Level (O-level) examinations, while the Normal streams are four-year courses leading to the Normal Level (N-level) examinations.

How many classes are there in O level?

Along with the 5 Compulsory Subjects, every student appears in the Final O-Level Examinations in a total of 9 subjects.

IMPORTANT:  You asked: How far is Lagos to London?
African stories