What is English law in Zambia?

Zambia’s judicial system is based on English common law and customary law. … Local courts mainly administer customary law, especially cases relating to marriage, property, and inheritance. Under the constitution of 1997, the Supreme Court is the highest court in Zambia and serves as the final court of appeal.

What English law means?

English law is the common law legal system of England and Wales, comprising mainly criminal law and civil law, each branch having its own courts and procedures.

What are the two types of laws in Zambia?

Zambia has a plural legal system consisting of general law based on English law, customary law, and a variety of bodies of rules and practices generated by semi-autonomous social groups like the church. Customary law consists of the customary laws of each of Zambia’s 73 ethnic groups.

Is there need to use English law in Zambia?

​(ii) Any other written law in Zambia. Thus, the Constitution of Zambia and any other written law would have to be deficient or not comprehensive on a subject for English Law to apply in Zambia. … Hence, common law, doctrines of equity and English statutes passed before 17th August 1911 are applicable in Zambia.

IMPORTANT:  Frequent question: Does Zimbabwe export or import more?

What is received English law?

The Received English Statutes / Laws

These are laws enacted in England but were received into our legal system by choice e. g Conveyance Act 1881, Land Transfer Act 1897, The Will Act 1837. The received English laws were originally enacted for England, but co-opted into our laws.

What is British law called?

Overarching these systems is the law of the United Kingdom, also known as United Kingdom law (often abbreviated UK law). … The Supreme Court of the United Kingdom is the highest court in the land for all criminal and civil cases in England and Wales and Northern Ireland, and for all civil cases in Scots law.

What is the first law of England?

The oldest formally written law still in force in England is therefore the Distress Act of 1267. This made it illegal to seek ‘distress’, or compensation for damage, by any means other than a lawsuit in a court of law – effectively outlawing private feuds.

What are the types of law in Zambia?


As a result of the colonial legacy, Zambia has a dual legal system made up of general law (the Constitution, statutes, case precedents, subsidiary legislation and English common law, principles of equity and selected statutes) and customary law.

What are the three classifications of law in Zambia?

Public law deals with the state and includes such branches as criminal law, constitutional law, and administrative law; whereas private law includes contracts, torts, property law, and family law. Finally, the law may be classified into criminal and civil.

IMPORTANT:  Quick Answer: Does the King of Morocco have a harem?

What are the 4 types of law?

Law is divided into four broad categories. These types of law are tort law, contract law, property law and criminal law.

What are the four categories of law in Zambia?

The following are sources of law in Zambia:

  • Constitution.
  • Legislation.
  • Common Law.
  • Judicial precedent.
  • Customary Law.
  • Authoritative texts.

How many laws do we have in Zambia?

Blackhall’s Laws of Zambia is intended to be the tool for both the legal community and the general public.

Is Zambia common law?

Like most other countries formerly tied to England, Zambia is recognized as a common law jurisdiction. The description is supported by the history of the country as well as by current statutory guidelines and judicial declarations.

African stories