When was INEC established Nigeria?

In 1998, General Abdulsalam Abubakar’s Administration dissolved NECON and established the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC). INEC organized the transitional elections that ushered in the Nigerian Fourth Republic on May 29, 1999.

Who established the National Electoral Commission?

Who conducted the 1979 election in Nigeria?

11 August 1979

Nominee Shehu Shagari Obafemi Awolowo
Running mate Alex Ekwueme Philip Umeadi
Popular vote 5,688,857 4,916,551
Percentage 33.77% 29.18%

Who is INEC Chairman of Nigeria?

Mahmood Yakubu (born 1962) is a Nigerian academic and current chairman of Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Who was the INEC chairman in 1993?

Professor Humphrey Nwosu (born 2 October 1941) was chairman of the National Electoral Commission (NEC) appointed by President Ibrahim Babangida, holding office from 1989 to 1993.

Humphrey Nwosu
In office 1989–1993
Preceded by Eme Awa
Succeeded by Okon Uya
Personal details

What was the first electoral body in Nigeria?

The administration of democratic elections in Nigeria dates back to the period before Independence when the Electoral Commission of Nigeria(ECN) was inaugurated in 1958 to conduct the 1959 federal elections. Prior to 1958, regional laws and government regulated and conducted elections.

IMPORTANT:  Best answer: Where is best to stay in Egypt to see the pyramids?

Who was the founder of the first political party in Nigeria?

The Nigerian National Democratic Party (NNDP) was Nigeria’s first political party. Formed in 1923 by Herbert Macaulay to take advantage of the new Clifford Constitution, which succeeded the 1914 Nigerian Council.

What is the full meaning of NEC in Nigeria?

The National Economic Council (NEC) was established by the provisions of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999, as amended; Section 153(1) and Paragraphs 18 & 19 of Part I of the Third Schedule.

Who created the first 12 states in Nigeria?

The Creation of States

General Yakubu Gowon created twelve states out of the four regions that existed at that time appointing a governor to head them.

Who divided Nigeria into 36 states?

In 1991, Nigeria had the total number of thirty states. In 1996, General San Abacha came to power. He managed to create six more states, which gives us a current number of 36 states.

Who is the president of Nigeria?

Who is the chairman of Fedeco?

Michael Ani (30 November 1917 – 18 December 1985) was chairman of the Federal Electoral Commission (FEDECO) established by General Olusegun Obasanjo to conduct elections leading to the Nigerian Second Republic, which was inaugurated on 1 October 1979.

African stories