Who is the new president of Nigeria?

President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria
Presidential Standard
Incumbent Muhammadu Buhari since May 29, 2015
Executive Branch of the Federal Government
Style Mr. President His Excellency

When Next is Nigeria presidential election?

General elections will be held in Nigeria on 23 February 2023 to elect the President, Vice President, House of Representatives and Senate.

Where is Muhammadu Buhari from?

Who is the Senate President of Nigeria today?

President of the Senate of Nigeria

President of the Senate of The Federal Republic of Nigeria
Incumbent Ahmed Lawan since 11 June 2019
Legislative Branch of the Federal Government
Style Mr President
Member of Nigerian Senate National Assembly Commission

How many votes did Buhari get in 2019?


Candidate Running mate Votes
Muhammadu Buhari Yemi Osinbajo 15,191,847
Atiku Abubakar Peter Obi 11,262,978
Felix Nicolas Ado Baba 110,196
Obadiah Mailafia Nasiru Tanimowo Nurain Bolanle 97,874

Who is the president of America?

Why is twitter banned in Nigeria?

On 5 June 2021, the Nigerian government officially put an indefinite ban on Twitter restricting it from operating in Nigeria after the social media platform deleted tweets made by the Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari warning the south eastern people of Nigeria predominantly occupied by the Igbo people of a potential …

IMPORTANT:  Best answer: Was Niger a British colony?

How many senators does Nigeria have in 2020?

It consists of 109 senators: the 36 states are each divided in 3 senatorial districts each electing one senator using the first-past-the-post electoral system; the Federal Capital Territory elects only one senator also using first-past-the-post.

What was the first political party in Nigeria?

The Nigerian National Democratic Party (NNDP) was Nigeria’s first political party. Formed in 1923 by Herbert Macaulay to take advantage of the new Clifford Constitution, which succeeded the 1914 Nigerian Council.

Who is the current leader of Nigeria’s House of Representatives?

House of Representatives (Nigeria)

House of Representatives
Type Lower Chambers of the National Assembly of Nigeria
Speaker of the House of Representatives Femi Gbajabiamila, APC since 11 June 2019
Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives Ahmed Idris Wase, APC since 11 June 2019

What is called a by election?

A by-election, also known as a special election in the United States and the Philippines, or a bypoll in India, is an election used to fill an office that has become vacant between general elections.

How is the Iranian president elected?

The President of Iran is elected for a four-year term by direct vote and is not permitted to run for three consecutive terms. Chapter IX of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Iran sets forth the qualifications for presidential candidates.

Which countries have FPTP?

List of current FPTP countries

  • Antigua and Barbuda.
  • Argentina.
  • Azerbaijan.
  • Bahamas.
  • Barbados.
  • Bangladesh.
  • Belize.
  • Bermuda (United Kingdom)
African stories