Your question: How are hospitals classified in Kenya?

The Kenyan health system defines six levels of the hierarchy, as follows: level 1, community services; level 2, dispensaries and clinics; level 3, health centres and maternity and nursing homes; level 4, sub-county hospitals and medium-sized private hospitals; level 5, county referral hospitals and large private …

What are the 4 classifications of hospitals?

Types of Hospitals in the United States

  • Community Hospitals (Nonfederal Acute Care)
  • Federal Government Hospitals.
  • Nonfederal Psychiatric Care.
  • Nonfederal Long-term Care.

What are Level 5 hospitals in Kenya?

These hospitals, known as Level 5 hospitals, include the former 7 provincial hospitals in Embu, Garissa, Kakamega, Kisumu, Mombasa, Nakuru and Nyeri, and four additional high volume facilities in Meru, Machakos, Thika and Kisii towns.

What are the classification of hospital?

Hospitals are classified as general, specialty, or government depending on the sources of income received. A teaching hospital combines assistance to people with teaching to medical students and nurses. A medical facility smaller than a hospital is generally called a clinic.

What are Level 4 hospitals in Kenya?

List of Level 4 Hospitals in Kenya

  • Ahero Sub-District Hospital.
  • Alupe Sub-District Hospital.
  • Ambira Sub-District Hospital.
  • Annex Hospital Nakuru.
  • Awendo Sub-District Hospital.
  • Bahati District Hospital.
  • Bamba Sub-District Hospital.
  • Baragoi Sub-District Hospital.
IMPORTANT:  Question: Who is the director general of Ghana Ports and Harbours authority?

What are the 4 classifications of hospitals based on funding received?

In California, the four main types of payers are: private (ex. employer-based), Medicare, Medi-Cal (California’s state Medicaid program), or uninsured (no payer). Depending on how their patients are insured, hospitals are reimbursed differently.

What is hospital and types?

A hospital is a health-care facility that provides specialised medical and nursing care as well as medical supplies to patients. … Based on the source of revenue, hospitals are categorised as general, specialised, or government. A teaching hospital integrates patient care with medical students as well as nurse education.

What are Level 6 hospitals Kenya?

LEVEL 6 – National Referral Hospitals

Kenyatta National Hospital and Moi Teaching and Referral hospital offer specialised consultations in curative care. National Spinal Injury Referral offers specialised services in orthopaedic and spinal injuries. The national government manages these three hospitals.

How many hospitals do we have in Kenya?

There are five national hospitals in Kenya, namely: Moi Teaching and Referral Hospital. The National Spinal Injury and Referral Hospital. Kenyatta National Hospital.

What are the five types of hospitals?

Hospital Types

  • Acute care. Hospital that treats patients in the acute phase of an illness or injury.
  • Addiction/substance abuse treatment. …
  • Community (General) …
  • Rural Hospital. …
  • Urban Hospital. …
  • Long-Term Care Hospital. …
  • Psychiatric Hospital. …
  • Rehabilitation Hospital.

What are the 6 types of specialty hospitals?

Specialty Hospitals

  • Women’s hospitals.
  • Children’s hospitals.
  • Cardiac hospitals.
  • Oncology hospitals.
  • Psychiatric hospitals.
  • Trauma centers.
  • Cancer treatment centers.

What are the 5 levels of medical care?

They’re divided into the categories of primary care, secondary care, tertiary care, and quaternary care. Each level is related to the complexity of the medical cases being treated as well as the skills and specialties of the providers.

IMPORTANT:  Question: What does it take to own a bank in Nigeria?

What is Kenya health Essential Package?

An Essential Package of Health Services (EPHS) can be defined as the package of services that the government is providing or is aspiring to provide to its citizens in an equitable manner. … The Community Health Strategy details the services that community health workers will deliver.

What is a Level 2 hospital?

A Level II Trauma Center is able to initiate definitive care for all injured patients. Elements of Level II Trauma Centers Include: 24-hour immediate coverage by general surgeons, as well as coverage by the specialties of orthopedic surgery, neurosurgery, anesthesiology, emergency medicine, radiology and critical care.

African stories