Do they speak Spanish in North Africa?

In Africa, only one country has Spanish as an official language. That country is Equatorial Guinea, where around 68% of the population of 1,3 million people speak Equatoguinean Spanish as their mother tongue, and while Portuguese and French are co-official languages in the country, these are much less current.

What countries speak Spanish in northern Africa?

Contemporary Spanish North Africa: Spain’s two autonomous cities: Ceuta and Melilla, plus other minor territories (plazas de soberanía) Canary Islands.

Spanish North Africa

  • Spanish Morocco.
  • Spanish Sahara.
  • Ifni.
  • Cape Juby.

What part of North America did Spain claim?

At its greatest extent, the Spanish crown claimed on the mainland of the Americas much of North America south of Canada, that is: all of present-day Mexico and Central America except Panama; most of present-day United States west of the Mississippi River, plus the Floridas.

What country in Africa speaks English?

Sierra Leone and Liberia are the only countries in Africa where English is spoken as the primary language. English is the primary language of Nigeria and Ghana, but the language is spoken as a lingua franca in both states.

What country in Africa speaks French?

Like many African nations, Mali is a multilingual country. The official language is French, Bambara is the lingua franca, the national language, and the most widely spoken language.

IMPORTANT:  Question: What functions did visual art serve in West Africa quizlet?

What is the only Spanish-speaking country in North America?

Spanish Vocabulary

Country País (en español)
North America Mexico México
Central America Costa Rica Costa Rica
El Salvador El Salvador
Guatemala Guatemala
African stories