How many borders does Africa have?

There are about 110 borders between African States and several inter-State borders that cut across the entire African continent. The origins of these borders date back to the later nineteenth and early twentieth century colonial and empire period.

How many borders are in Africa?


Show national borders Hide national borders Show all
Area 30,370,000 km2 (11,730,000 sq mi) (2nd)
Countries 54+2*+4** (*disputed) (**territories)
Dependencies show External (3) show Internal (9+1 disputed)
Languages 1250–3000 native languages

What are the borders of Africa?

About Africa

In the north, the continent is bounded by the Mediterranean Sea and the Strait of Gibraltar, in the west by the Atlantic Ocean, in the south and the southeast by the Indian Ocean, and on its north-eastern coast by the Red Sea, and the Gulf of Aden.

Are African borders artificial?

Besides the examples above, artificial borders were drawn during the colonial period and few borders changed after decolonization. Africa is the region most notorious for arbitrary borders. … Latin America is a lesser known (and much earlier) example of artificial borders drawn by a colonial power, in this case Spain.

What is Africa’s largest city?

What’s wrong with Africa’s borders?

African national borders are afflicted by a multitude of troubles that straddle villages and communities. These can include military skirmishes, cattle rustling, terrorism, secessionist movements, smuggling, ethnic violence, people trafficking, irredentism and agrarian revolts.

IMPORTANT:  Frequent question: How many immigrants are in South Africa?
African stories