Quick Answer: What are the 9 South African provinces?

South Africa’s nine provinces are the Eastern Cape, the Free State, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, the Northern Cape, North West and the Western Cape.

What are the 9 provinces in South Africa in Afrikaans?

North-West: Noordwes (Afrikaans) Northern Cape: Noord-Kaap (Afrikaans) Limpopo: Noordelike Provinsie (Afrikaans); Northern Province, Northern Transvaal (obsolete) Western Cape: Wes-Kaap (Afrikaans)

Which is the biggest province?

The Largest Provinces of South Africa by Area and by Population

Rank Province Province
1 Gauteng Northern Cape
2 KwaZulu-Natal Eastern Cape
3 Eastern Cape Free State
4 Western Cape Western Cape

How many states does South Africa have?

South Africa is divided into nine provinces—Western Cape, Eastern Cape, Northern Cape, North West, Free State, KwaZulu-Natal, Gauteng, Limpopo, and Mpumalanga.

Which is richest province in South Africa?

Gauteng is the richest province in South Africa, and that is perhaps the reason why it is the most populous in the country.

What were the homelands in South Africa?

In total, ten homelands were created in South Africa. These were the Transkei, Bophuthatswana, Ciskei, Venda, Gazankulu, KaNgwane, KwaNdebele, KwaZulu, Lebowa, and QwaQwa. The homelands were designed for specific ethnic groups.

Who named South Africa?

Name. The name “South Africa” is derived from the country’s geographic location at the southern tip of Africa. Upon formation, the country was named the Union of South Africa in English and Unie van Zuid-Afrika in Dutch, reflecting its origin from the unification of four formerly separate British colonies.

IMPORTANT:  How were the West African trading empires able to grow and become wealthy quizlet?

Which province is the coldest in South Africa?

Sutherland is the coldest town in South Africa, although the farm Buffelsfontein near Molteno holds the official lowest temperature record in Continental South Africa, of −20.1 °C (−4 °F).

African stories