What does MEC stand for in South Africa?

In South Africa, the Executive Council of a province is the cabinet of the provincial government. The Executive Council consists of the Premier and five to ten other members, who have the title “Member of the Executive Council”, commonly abbreviated to “MEC”.

What is the role of MEC?

It states that MECs exercise their executive authority through a wide range of responsibilities that include implementing national and provincial laws; developing and implementing provincial policy, and co-ordinating the functions of provincial administration and its departments.

Can the Premier assign power to the members of Executive Council?

The Premier of a province appoints the members of the Executive Council, assigns their powers and functions, and may dismiss them.

What are the 3 structures of government?

The three spheres of Government

  • National Government.
  • Provincial Government.
  • Local Government.

What is the name of the premier of South Africa?

List of current Premiers

Premier Province First mandate began
Sisi Ntombela Free State 2018 Designation
David Makhura Gauteng 2014 Election
Sihle Zikalala KwaZulu-Natal 2019 Election
Stanley Mathabatha Limpopo 2013 Designation

What are the 3 democratic structures of South Africa?

That means that the power of the state is divided between three different but interdependent components or arms, namely the executive (Cabinet), the legislature (Parliament) and the judiciary (Courts of law). The Executive: The President is the head of state and of the national executive.

IMPORTANT:  Question: What are the top 20 richest countries in Africa?

Who does MEC report to?

The Executive Council

(The exception is the Western Cape whose provincial Constitution allows for the additional appointment of up to two non-voting MECs from outside the Legislature.) MECs are accountable to their Premiers. Like Ministers, MECs are responsible for departments.

Is Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma a doctor?

Nkosazana Clarice Dlamini-Zuma (née Dlamini; born 27 January 1949), sometimes referred to by her initials NDZ, is a South African politician, doctor and anti-apartheid activist, currently serving as Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs.

African stories